Twitter's 'mute' feature will be rolled out to everyone soon
We heard about Twitter’s plans to experiment with a ‘mute’ feature a few weeks ago, and now it looks like it’ll be a regular part of our tweeting experience, according to a post on the official Twitter blog.
The new feature will work across iPhone and Android devices, as well as on Twitter.com, and will allow you to mute other users. This means their tweets and retweets will no longer be visible in your timeline, but they won’t know you’ve silenced them. They’ll still be able to interact with everything you do and you’ll be able to un-mute them too, if you change your mind.
Many have been criticising the move, commenting that we should all just be a bit more ballsy and unfollow those we don’t want to hear from. However, we all know the world of social media friending and unfriending is much more complex than that, and can imagine a whole range of situations where we’d like to shut someone up, but not make the big commitment of unfollowing them from our Twitter feed and, essentially, our entire lives.
According to the Twitter blog, the feature will be rolled out to all users over the coming weeks.